Value Investor Awards

We will begin to accept nominations for the Value Investor Awards in March 2023


The London Value Investor Conference is now requesting nominations from all Value Investor Digest subscribers for three Awards, which will be awarded to two listed Company CEOs and to a Fund Manager in recognition of their achievements.


Shareholders invest in businesses with the expectation of receiving returns on their investment. However, on average, 70% of shareholder funds are retained in businesses and not distributed to shareholders. Therefore, the effective deployment of retained capital is critical in delivering strong investor returns. In recognition of this, the London Value Investor Conference has introduced two annual awards for public company CEOs who exhibit exceptional capital allocation skills over multiple years:

The LVIC Award for Best Capital Allocator – UK listed companies
The LVIC Award for Best Capital Allocator – Global listed companies

The criteria used for evaluating good capital allocation practices will include:

  • Returning capital to shareholders through dividends or share buybacks when it offers the best return on capital
  • Implementing strict cost controls to save shareholders money
  • Focusing on return on investment when investing in growth capital expenditures
  • Discontinuing or divesting poor-performing, non-core, or loss-making businesses
  • Acquiring businesses or large assets at prices that generate superior long-term shareholder returns:


The LVIC Award for Best Capital Allocator – UK listed companies
Richard Cousins – Compass Group (Winner 2016)
Tim Martin – J D Wetherspoon (Winner 2017)
Simon Wolfson – Next (Winner 2018)
Henry Engelhardt & David Stephens – Admiral Group (Winner 2019)
Mike Norris – Computacenter (Winner 2022)

The LVIC Award for Best Capital Allocator – Global listed companies
Prem Watsa – Fairfax Financial (Winner 2016)
Warren Buffett – Berkshire Hathaway (Winner 2017)
Michael O’Leary – Ryanair (Winner 2018)
Bruce Flatt – Brookfield Asset Management (Winner 2019)
Mark Leonard – Constellation Software (Winner 2022)

The LVIC Fund Manager Award for Lifetime Achievement
Charles Brandes (Winner 2015)
Jean-Marie Eveillard (Winner 2016)
Anthony Bolton (Winner 2017)
Joel Greenblatt (Winner 2018)
Seth Klarman (Winner 2019)
Hassan Elmasry (Winner 2022)


To make a nomination for any of the awards, please use the forms below. The deadline for nominations is Friday 22nd April 2022.
After the nominations phase, the winner of the CEO Awards will be decided by the LVIC Awards Committee. The Fund Manager Award for Lifetime Achievement will be shortlisted by the committee before being decided by a vote among conference delegates.

Please nominate for one or more awards below.